tiafish

At the point of a knife

New Environs

Exciting news: I have a new studio space! With plans to start experimenting with acrylic on canvas, I was hanging out in the workshop area which houses the electric staple gun. It’s in one of the art school’s oldest parts, a tiny wee separate building which seems to almost never, ever be open. This is because it’s almost always empty, even though it has two rooms of studio spaces, it’s lovely and warm with lots of sunlight (Ahh!) and -AND- it has the workshop equipment! I’ve wanted this space since first year. So I asked about the vacant space at the back, and the next day moved in.

 

New studio

Although I’m now completely separated from my cohort, I actually am loving it. I love that I can play music and dance around, I can giggle at things that amuse me, I can spread out my stuff without people walking on it! Bliss! I now have four tables. And a wheely chair. And a pinboard! Two pinboards… And the wall is already covered in paint, so I don’t have to worry about making it worse; the floor is completely black and I don’t know if it’s from soot, tar or paint.

 

New studio

Maybe soon it will start feeling a bit empty of other life, but right now this space is just amazing. If only as much could be said for the artwork, but it’s early days. I’ll get there.

canvas

 

One comment on “New Environs

  1. Serena Alexis Yates
    July 29, 2013

    Very cool Tia 😀

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 26, 2013 by in Dunedin School of Art.

Personal work on this site is:

Archives